On Thursday, December 20, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Ivars Bickovics accepted the oath of twelve advocates admitted to the Latvian Council of Sworn Advocates.

The community of advocates is enlarged by Lauma Balode, Arturs Caics, Tatjana Caika, Julija Dzerve, Gatis Gailums, Aleksandrs Locans, Tina Luse, Gundega Mikelsone, Krista Putna, Matiss Rostoks, Anete Romanovska, Armands Strods.

Following the oath-giving, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court noted that this time oath-giving is special because these are the first oaths given as Latvia entered its second centenary. Ivars Bickovics called on advocates to observe the oath given, to respect themselves and their office on a daily basis. Advocates are part of the judicial system; their actions and attitudes create opinion about the entire judicial system – emphasized the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

To become a sworn advocate, a person who has an appropriate education and work experience, passes the advocates’ exam. After passing of the exam, if the Council of Sworn Advocates hasn’t received information on obstacles for admission of the new candidate stipulated in the Law on Advocacy, it admits a candidate to the community of sworn advocates. In accordance with Section 46 of the Law on Advocacy, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court accepts the oath of newly admitted advocates.  


Baiba Kataja, the Press Secretary of the Supreme Court
Tel.: +371 67020396; e-mail: baiba.kataja@at.gov.lv