On September 29, the Council for the Judiciary will convene Judges’ Electronic Conference to elect two members of self-governing bodies – a representative of the Judicial Qualification Committee from among the judges of the Regional Administrative Court and a representative of the Judicial Disciplinary Committee from among the judges of the Supreme Court.

A new member of the Judicial Qualification Committee should be elected since the term of office of Maris Vigants, Chair of Regional Administrative Court, expires on 4 October 2016.

In its turn, judge of the Supreme Court should be elected in the Judicial Disciplinary Committee in place of Janis Neimanis, who has become a judge of the Constitutional Court.

Candidates for self-governing bodies must be nominated by September 8th.

Council for the Judiciary has appointed Valters Pokis, Judge of Regional Administrative Court as head of the conference, and Ieva Zabarovska, Deputy-Chair of the Land Registry Office of Riga City Vidzeme District Court, - as secretary.

In turn, Daina Treija, Judge of Riga City Pardaugava Court, Dace Skrauple, Judge of Zemgale Regional Court, and Inese Ziedina, Judge of Jelgava Land Registry Office will work in the Vote-counting committee.

In accordance with Section 93, Paragraph two of the Law "On Judicial Power", the Judicial Qualification Committee shall consist of three Supreme Court judges: one from the Department of Administrative Cases, one from the Department of Civil Cases and one from the Department of Criminal Cases, three regional court judges - one from the Collegium of Civil Cases, one from the Collegium of Criminal Cases, as well as one judge from Regional Administrative Court Judge, two district (city) court judges and one judge of the Land Registry Office.

In turn, the second paragraph of Section 2 of the Judicial Disciplinary Liability Law stipulates that the Judicial Disciplinary Committee consists of the Chair of the Department of the Supreme Court, four Supreme Court judges, two chairs of regional courts, two chairs of district (city) courts and two chairs of land registry offices.


Information prepared by

Rasma Zvejniece, the Head of the Division of Communication of the Supreme Court

E-mail: rasma.zvejniece@at.gov.lv, telephone: +371 67020396, +371 28652211