The Latvian Council of Sworn Notaries will be represented by Janis Skrastins in the Council for the Judiciary. He was elected during the General Meeting of Sworn Notaries as Chair of the Council for the next three years.

The Council for the Judiciary in accordance with Article 891 of the Law "On Judicial Power" consists of 15 members – eight permanent members (officials) and seven elected members. The Chair of the Council of Sworn Notaries is a permanent member of the Council for the Judiciary.

A permanent member (official) may authorize another person to participate at the sitting of the Council for the Judiciary


Information prepared by

Rasma Zvejniece, the Head of the Division of Communication of the Supreme Court

E-mail:, telephone: +371 67020396, +371 28652211