On September 29, Maris Vigants, judge of Administrative Regional Court, was re-elected as a member of Judicial Qualification Committee, and Livija Slica, judge of the Department of Administrative Cases, was elected as a member of the Judicial Disciplinary Committee, by means of electronic voting.

267 out of 527 judges participated in elections.

251 judges voted for the candidate Maris Vigants and 227 judges – for Livija Slica. They were the only candidates for the respective positions of the judicial self-government bodies.

A member of the Judicial Qualification Committee had to be re-elected as Mr Vigants ended his term of office. In its turn, the judge of the Supreme Court must be elected to the Judicial Disciplinary Committee in order to replace Janis Neimanis, who has become a judge of the Constitutional Court.

According to the Section 93, Paragraph two of the Law "On Judicial Power", the Judicial Qualification Committee is composed of three Supreme Court judges – one from each department – Department of Administrative Cases, Department of Civil Cases and Department of Criminal Cases, three regional court judges – one of the Collegium of Civil Cases, one of the Collegium of Criminal Cases and one judge of the Administrative Regional Court, two district (city) court judges and one judge of the Land Registry Office.

In its turn, Section 2, Paragraph two of the Judicial Disciplinary Liability Law provides that the Judicial Disciplinary Committee consists of the chair of the department of the Supreme Court, four Supreme Court judges, two chairs of regional courts, two chairs of district (city) courts and two heads of land registry offices.

Members of the Judicial Qualification Committee and Judicial Disciplinary Committee shall be elected at the conference by secret ballot for a term of four years.


Information prepared by

Rasma Zvejniece, the Head of the Division of Communication of the Supreme Court

E-mail: rasma.zvejniece@at.gov.lv, telephone: +371 67020396, +371 28652211