At the Conference of Judges of Republic of Latvia which took place on April 17,  three new members of Judicial Disciplinary Committee and one new member of Judicial Qualification Commitee have been elected.

In a composition of Judicial Disciplinary Commitee there have been elected three new judges – the Chair of Riga Regional Court Sandra Strence, the Chair of the Cesis District Branch of the Land Registry Inese Kirsteine and the Chair of the Vidzeme Suburb of Riga Court Iveta Krevica.

There was necessary to elect new member of Disciplinary Commitee among chiefs of Regional courts, as the former Chair of Administrative Regional Court Aldis Lavins became the senator of the Supreme Court, among chiefs of District Branch of the Land Registry, as Arnis Naglis had been confirmed to the post of judge of Ogre District Court, and among chiefs of District courts, as the Chair of the Cesu District Court Juris Kavis has died.

The member of Judicial Qualifications Committee instead of the previous representative of the Supreme Court Ivars Bickovics, the judge of the Chamber of Criminal Cases Inguna Radzevica had been elected. It was necessary to re-elect a member of Judicial Qualification Committee, as I.Bickovics has been elected for the post of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Conference of Judges has also confirmed Manual of Judicial Qualification Committee. Before that Regulation confirmed by the Committee were a basis of activity of Committee, but with amendments in the law «On judicial power» from April 3, 2008, there has been established that the Judicial Qualification Committee operates according to the regulations, confirmed by Conference of Judges.


Information prepared by

Head of the Division of Communications of the Supreme Court Rasma Zvejniece

E-mail:, telephone: 7020396, 28652211